Month: May 2013

  • Luke’s Rock

    This is Luke’s Rock.

    Obviously Luke has muscles.

    Me thinks Luke should put those muscles to work
    instead of tagging up nature.

    Luke, you really should share your gift with the world
    and not just the squirrels along the trails.

    These folks here at Moore Recovers can help you get started.

    Just think of all the other people that will see your beautiful flex
    as you lift tornado debris and move through piles of rubble.

    Spread the love, Luke.

  • THIS is Oklahoma

    Josey just stretched and released a sweet canine yawn while snoozing in one of the bedroom recliners.  These chairs were suppose to be for me and my Hunky, but the dogs have taken them over.  As it should be.

    Meteorology Man is gone again today.  He is working with Victory Disaster Relief in Moore with more clean-up work.  He thanked me for having his work clothes already washed and ready to go.  It’s a simple thing.

    He finally got his offer package for his new job yesterday.  Right when we are trying to find the drop-off location for the Snuggle Drive.  He had people calling him non-stop requesting information.  We had to pull over three times.  I finally asked him (read demanded) that he ignore all their pleas for more paperwork until after we had delivered the Snugglies.

    We tried a new restaurant while we were in Edmond.  Ted’s.  The salsa was fresh, with the perfect hint of cilantro.  The hot stuff nearly closed my Hunky’s throat.  He seriously couldn’t breath.  It really should come with a warning label.  And because I am the compassionate wife, I made dieing from salsa jokes for the rest of the day.

    I ran to the store this morning to pick up more dog food.  We will be delivering it to Absentee Shawnee Tribe Community Center for the Shawnee tornado victims.  We will also offer our three dog kennel runs.  And because we are closer, we can offer our ranch for lost horses.   We think we can swing a few dogs as well, if need be.  I have three open dog pens.  I will just need to pick up some more dog houses.

    Well, Miss Joesy has fully awakened from her sweet canine slumber, and is bossing me with her growls and grit.  She is ready to rumble and carouse the out of doors. 

    I listened to this song this morning.  Her spirit really shines through. 
    THIS is Oklahoma.



    If you would like a way to help Moore, Oklahoma, you can still order the Heart of Moore sculpture through PioneerArtisanworks. 

  • Small Beans

    I just got out of the shower and will type a few words before my Hunky comes in to blow dry my hair for me.  I know, the man freaking rocks.  You know what else he did for me?  He removed a tick from my head.  Not for sure how it got there other than maybe when I was mowing under the trees the other day.  That means it’s been nesting in my hair for three days.  Small beans.

     

     


    Cleaning up a cemetery so people can be buried, bigger beans.  That’s how my Hunky and two of our sons spent the day yesterday.  They were so moved by the amount of volunteers.  More than 1000 people showed up to help clear away all that debris.  There’s some heroes out there in this beautiful world.  Real heroes. 

    Meteorology Man has his interview today. They decided to not fly him out since they already know him and just do it over the phone.  That’s allowed him the freedom to help with the disaster relief.  I love how that worked out.

    After his interview, we will head to a Snuggle Drive to drop off these goodies.  The young lady who is organizing the drive wants every child who the tornado has left homeless to have something to snuggle.  Blankets, pillows, stuffed animals.  I love seeing young people get so involved.

    Compassion.

    I think I may be confusing survivor’s guilt with a deep rooted ability to identify with this type of tragedy. 

    I don’t know, maybe it’s both.

    Regardless,
    I’ve declared it a good thing.

    I’d rather feel what I am feeling, than not feel it.

    Thank you for your encouraging words to me. 
    It really helped to make things clear.

    Now, it’s time for my hunky to work his magic on my hair.

  • Heart of Moore (edit)

    The house is quiet, with the exception of a few birds outside my window. 
    My heart is heavy, they encourage me to sing again.
    But it’s hard.
    After three years, I still struggle with survivor’s guilt.

    I know it’s not rational.
    It’s just so freaking hard to move on
    when so many are staring at massive miles of rubble
    asking, now what.

    So you do what you can do.

    You send a check.
    You pack little baggies of toiletries.
    You gather.

    But, it will never be enough
    to end this ache in my soul.

    Meteorology Man and the boys left early this morning with shovels and chainsaws in hand.This is how the men folk cope. They rip into the piles of chaos, releasing what could not be released in tears.  They are heroes. Though they will never admit it.

    Along with those who open their doors to strangers,
    who care for the lost and wounded canines,
    who ensure children have blankets and stuffed animals to make them feel safe again.

    Those who bring a bottle of water,
    a sandwich,
    a hand to hold.

    Who open their ranch gates to shaken horses,
    loading their trailers with supplies from cities all over,
    and making the trip to designated drop off centers.

    Because when people are hurting,
    something arises in us and we drop everything to do what we can.

    I love that about people.

    Macy wrote the words so beautifully.
    She was feeling a bit helpless,
    but found such a loving way to help raise funds for the victims.

    They have created this metal sculpture of Oklahoma with the heart of Moore,
    which can be purchased through the PioneerArtisanworks etsy site for $10.
    All proceeds going to Victory Disaster Relief.

    If you feel this is a way you can help the people of Moore, Oklahoma, I thank you. 

    I also want to thank you for all of your kind words for my Oklahoma and her people.You is good peoples and I wish I could hold every single one of you in my arms.

    Since I don’t do chainsaws, I am going to go cry a few more tears into the fur of my red dun mare.

    I love you.



    edit: OBL has a glorious post on survivor’s guilt.  I put my face into my hands and cried. And then I had this overwhelming sensation to eat fresh salsa.  That’s when I discovered my hands smell like cilantro.  My Oklahoma sun has finally returned today and I’ve been digging in my gardens. Good therapy doesn’t get any better than sun, digging in the dirt and the sweet words of a friend.  And fresh salsa.

  • It’s Not Good (update 8)

    I am sick.

    Moore Oklahoma has been hit again. 

    It’s beyond massive. 

    At least two schools have been wiped out.

    The children were still inside.

    No reports yet on survivors.

    Still waiting to hear from @bohemianlotus.

    Storms are not due to hit our area for a couple hours, maybe less.

    Please pray and send your sweet calming vibes towards Oklahoma’s chaos.

    I love you.

    UPDATE: All kids accounted for at Briarwood Elementary school in Moore, OK. Minor injuries reported at the school. www.news9.com

    UPDATE 2: NBC News reports that 24 children are believed dead at Plaza Towers.

    UPDATE 3: Macy, (my oldest daughter) is with bohemianlotus. She is safe, but without phone/power.  They drove by the area of her mother’s home and it looks to be leveled.  She still has been unable to locate/contact her mom. 

    UPDATE 4: 51 confirmed dead in today’s tornado outbreak. www.news9.com

    UPDATE 5: Macy just let us know that bohemianlotus was finally able to make contact with her mom, and Romeo is believed to be okay, too. 

    UPDATE 6: Oklahoma State ME office at 11:54pm – death toll from Monday’s tornado outbreak is now 91 24.

    UPDATE7: 101 people found alive overnight in the rubble.

    UPDATE 8: Here’s an update from @bohemianlotus! She could use some xanga hugs.

  • I Found Some Pretties

    Took a walk to the east pond a couple days ago. 



    It feels good to roll around on the ground with Doc Holliday again.

    Simmer down. 

    Did you forget Doc is my camera?

    sheesh peoples

    So tell me, what pretties have you found lately?

  • Go Get a Job (edit)

    “Go get a job” is something I am constantly telling my Hunky, esp when I see him kicked back with his laptop under the pine trees. A couple days ago, I asked him how much longer his company was going to pay him to work kicked back with his laptop under the pine trees.

    Two days obviously.

    For Hire: One well educated hunky. Will bring his own lawn chair.


    He’s only been unemployed for four hours and is already in negotiations with an affiliate company to continue to work from home, which will still allow us to move to Arizona.  Is it greedy to hope for a pay raise



    edit: Today also marks the three year anniversary of our tornado. 
    Thought I would add the video for you.
    Do we know how to rock May 10th, or what.

  • The Glory Continues




    I know I must sound like a simpleton, and maybe I am (and that is okay) but I just can’t shake the giddy.  From the time I was born, I have endured some pretty heavy seasons in my life.  Some by choice, even. 

    This rough stuff, the ugly, is what makes everything else around me beautiful.  It allows me to see it as beautiful.

    OBL’s post really hit home for me.

    Nothing like nine months of illness to make you appreciate scooping dog poop. 

    @ordinarybutloud

  • I Just Noticed He’s Hiding the Leftover Box Behind His Back

     

    I’m eating an Uber roasted nut roll.

    It is gluten free and non-gmo. 

    And I did not have to pay $492 for it on-line.

    I found it at the fancy Walmart in the next county over. 

    Feels like some sort of victory has been won.

    I’ve had three glorious days,
    and with the temps warming this week,
    the glory will continue to rock the house.

    This morning alone, has tipped the glory scale.

    I’ve sprinkled my seeds and plants with drinks of water,

    pulled a few stray weeds,

    changed out the dog waters,

    served canine poop duty, (yes, even this is glorious)

    heartwormed/flea and ticked nine canine,

    chased nine canine while yelling, I’ll get you my pretties,

    inhaled the fragrance of equine,

    dewormed one beautiful red dun mare,

    round penned one stubborn, but handsome, paint gelding,

    dewormed one stubborn, but still handsome, paint gelding.

    Went Round 2 with my half slab of ribs from yesterday’s Texas Roundhouse outing.

    There were birthdays to celebrate.

    Not for sure how my beautiful boys turned 20 and 24,
    yet I’ve yet to hit 35.

    Shut up.

    Don’t make my boys come over there and kick some butt.

    Okay, enough of this mushy love talk,

    it’s time to slip into my Larry the Cable Guy shirt and mow the back forty.

    Victory indeed.  *happy sigh*

  • Boom Boom

    You know you have arrived to a place of total confidence when you can give a tour of your land to potential buyers in your Larry the Cable Guy shirt while covered in Oklahoma grit and dog hair.

    No, I am not talking about my husband. 

    I have finally released my inner grungy mountain man at a should be embarrassing level.

    Going from a glorious 88 degrees to an all evil has returned 30 degrees signals the body to slip into hypothermia mode.

    It also temps the mean to outweigh the wild.

    I had a little anger releasing therapy yesterday afternoon.  (a little I HATE CROHNS releasing therapy)

    Or maybe I just threw a fit.

    Either way, I felt better.

    Emotionally, anyway.

    Physically is another story.

    I’m back on liquids for awhile.

    I get a little mean when I can’t eat.

    My Hunky is a brave man.  He peeks his head into my door and if a full bottle of Boost hasn’t come hurling past his head, he knows it’s safe to come in and comfort his fragile little wall wild flower.

    And still he tells me I make his speakers go boom-boom.

    I’m thinking he must have a little moonshine still hidden out on the back forty. One would have to be, at the very least, a bit tipsy to put up with me. 

    Totally smashed seems even safer. 

    I love you, Hunky.