May 23, 2013

  • Small Beans

    I just got out of the shower and will type a few words before my Hunky comes in to blow dry my hair for me.  I know, the man freaking rocks.  You know what else he did for me?  He removed a tick from my head.  Not for sure how it got there other than maybe when I was mowing under the trees the other day.  That means it’s been nesting in my hair for three days.  Small beans.

     

     


    Cleaning up a cemetery so people can be buried, bigger beans.  That’s how my Hunky and two of our sons spent the day yesterday.  They were so moved by the amount of volunteers.  More than 1000 people showed up to help clear away all that debris.  There’s some heroes out there in this beautiful world.  Real heroes. 

    Meteorology Man has his interview today. They decided to not fly him out since they already know him and just do it over the phone.  That’s allowed him the freedom to help with the disaster relief.  I love how that worked out.

    After his interview, we will head to a Snuggle Drive to drop off these goodies.  The young lady who is organizing the drive wants every child who the tornado has left homeless to have something to snuggle.  Blankets, pillows, stuffed animals.  I love seeing young people get so involved.

    Compassion.

    I think I may be confusing survivor’s guilt with a deep rooted ability to identify with this type of tragedy. 

    I don’t know, maybe it’s both.

    Regardless,
    I’ve declared it a good thing.

    I’d rather feel what I am feeling, than not feel it.

    Thank you for your encouraging words to me. 
    It really helped to make things clear.

    Now, it’s time for my hunky to work his magic on my hair.

Comments (30)

  • There you go. :) Your snugglies are lovely. It’s wonderful to help others at a time like this. Also, a tick in your hair is not small beans. It could potentially be very very big beans and also, it’s gross. Just sayin.

  • there’s just so much that we don’t think about in times like these, I would never have thought about cleaning up the cemetery.  Our ladies prayer group make the huggy bags and give them to the police and fire departments for kids who need a hug in unfortunate circumstances. I don’t think I’ve ever known a family that is as generous as yours…Good luck to MM, but who in their right minds wouldn’t want him, tick pickin and all 

  • @ordinarybutloud - I can’t believe I even discovered it. My neurotic head messaging.  Sad thing, Lyme symptoms and Crohns symptoms can be so similar, I would probably never even notice.  Yes. DOUBLE gross. But, the grossness is small beans.   

  • @mlbncsga - tick pickin, you made me laugh. 

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - I am so happy that today you are loving yourself for being compassionate and not hating yourself for surviving. I just thought you should know that. Also, even if gross things are small beans, it’s still okay to register things that are small beans. If you’d had your home destroyed in that tornado, you’d still care about the tick on your head (as you know, from personal experience). A tick on the head is a tick on the head!! p.s. I have a friend recently diagnosed with Lyme. Awful. p.p.s. I’m a little afraid I might have lice but I’m going to wait until it can’t be ignored before I confirm it.

  • @ordinarybutloud - Oh OBL!!!  Even though lice is much smaller beans than a possible infected tick, why does it FREAK our BIG BEANS button?  You know you probably picked them up hanging with those street poetry people.  hahaha!  Seriously, I love that you have found your people.

    And thank you.

  • Oh  my goodness I hate ticks and they are so BAD this year
    Snuggling is good and right now those babies need some snuggles

  • Good luck with your tick! ha! That would be annoying!

    I love the volunteers that go help immediately after a disaster. It’s how things get done! Thank you and yours for being those people!

  • Probably, it’d be a good idea for you and Bob to check one another for ticks, each day, before beddy-bye.  God knows, I wouldn’t want ticks getting into my piller case.

    The projects which unfold, day-by-day in Moore and Shawnee, will definitely prove the stuff of everyday heroism.

  • Ticks are one thing I don’t have to worry about.  They can’t get through my wig, or my bandanna on the hotter days when I prefer to go bald.  

    That was an impressive turnout for the clean up.  Makes my heart sing to see so many people willing to pitch in and do what needs to be done.

  • Amazing how quickly the cemetery looks cleaned up!  And even more amazing how many people came out to help!  I wouldn’t have thought of the cemetery as a priority, but it sure makes sense after such a disaster, and it’s an important part of any town.

  • I am grateful you are feeling and walking through this and being an example to others who are going through what you have already gone through.

    Thank goodness for MM getting that tick and giving you a hand with your hair.  I think you got a keeper there.Thank God for people like your MM and your family who are out there lending a hand.Hugs and loves to all of you and Ty for simply being who you are.

  • Gah, I’m such an emotional train wreck. I cried so hard reading your post.

    I thank everything that’s sacred that people like you and your family, as well as all the volunteers who took the time and had the heart to help, are in this world.

  • Yes, it’s always best to feel those feelings…let them out…give them a chance to be “heard” and then heal. Be kind to yourself…you have such a big compassionate heart!
    The snuggly-soft-babies you got to give to the children are so cute and sweet!
    You can snuggle with Hunky after he does your hair!
    Thank you, to your whole family, for the work they are doing to help!!!

    My hair person’s name is “Louise”. Hmm…I’m doing something wrong.
    HUGS!!! and good luck to Hunky on the interview!

  • The “huggies” are such a wonderful gift for those children. 

  • You and Hunky both rock!

  • I agree with Kathy, you and MM rock! I love all the snugglies. And SO glad you found that tick! We have itty bitty ones here that are so hard to see.  About the only way I know I have one is when it starts itching and oops, there it is!  Stay strong my friend!  

  • The mini says it all!!!  ((((HUGS)))) 

  • Our company will match my donation to the Red Cross, so will do that. Glad to see everyone pitch in.

  • That’s an amazing man you have! And wonderful boys! And YOU!  I have my emotions and a bunch of words that have tumbled out all over my sister when we talked today about the tornado, etc. It’s just so overly overwhelming, we both agreed. Too, too much.  And you better not get sick from that tick!!!!!

  • I got a maggot in my scalp when I visited Costa Rica in 1987. I could list a bunch of other such things if you want, particularly from 1984-1985 when I was in Honduras.

    When my son was in kindergarten, his teacher bought stuffed animals to give to sick kids, but first she had the kids in the class load them up with hugs. I thought that was amazing.

  • it’s good to see things are picking up and people are adjusting to the after math.  stay safe.

  • It is nice to know that there are still heroes out there! <3

  • What a good hunky you’ve got!

  • my wife texted me this morning after she got out of bed because she had a tick on her shin and she was wanting me to tell her how she got it. I suppose she thinks it’s my fault. Sometimes it is (when I’ve been out to the farm). But this time, she’s spent more time out doors than I have for the past week. I’m guessing it rode into our back yard on a squirrel where she’s been planting flowers. They can sure leave a welt, can’t they!

  • Just seeing pictures and hearing stories is heartbreaking.  I can’t imagine being there and seeing this.  It is so great that so many are turned out to help out with this!  Amazing!  We are seeing that close to here also where a girl was taken.  So many have turned out for the search.  It isn’t looking good that she will be found alive now.  Is heartbreaking also!

  • It is nice they had such a big turnout!  I wanted to go to NJ after Hurricane Sandy but our local Red Cross said they didn’t have any “need” for volunteers and no churches in the area did anything.  I was really disappointed, as I could not just pack up and go there on my own.  :( 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.