Month: July 2013

  • Just Look For the Dust

    She stayed away,
    for weeks
    hoping the day would come
    and pass without notice.

    Denial
    she can be dangerous,
    her blindfold a bogus comfort.

    She never really meant to forget.

    Sun was setting
    and despite the impending darkness
    she refused to make other provisions.

    Until that twist of panic
    won over, she strained to see
    the way before her.

    Not knowing
    tends to distort the horizon.

    If the trail fades away
    and another path must be taken,
    she hopes to see you somewhere down her red dirt road.

    Just look for the dust.

    I had not planned on creating a new blog location, but the coyotes are howling and I would hate to lose you lovely mangy varmints.  We’ve traveled a long time together.  Shared the same canteen, washed the grit off in the same watering hole.  If this watering hole doesn’t dry up completely, then I will continue to kick up the dust here.

    wildwomanoutwest.wordpress.com


    I’ve not been able to settle in and hang pretties on the wall, as of yet.  Not for lack of trying.  WordPress is moving like molasses in January and keeps locking up.  I paid my $99, but still have ads and do not seem to have the freedom to customize my front page header with my own photos.  I know I have been foggy here of late, but I’m struggling to figure it all out.  Mostly because it keeps locking up and won’t let me click where I need to click.  And what are those green underlined links on the words of my post? I am open to any advise and insight.  Otherwise, WP is going to get a taste of my inner Yosemite Sam.  *kick grumble spit* 

  • No Need For That Sedative Tonight

    I just put all the canine to bed for the evening. 

    Jack is burying himself under his blankie in the recliner.

    Ralph and Ed are fighting in the background. 
    The episode where Ed is wearing his Captain Video helmet.

    Back when comedians relied on real talent and make you belly laugh,
    even while the sound is muted.

    We got rid of our Dish Net when the kids all left for school,
    it just wasn’t worth it.  We didn’t watch it, other than the History Channel and HGTV.

    I do miss American Pickers, American Restoration and Pawn Stars,
    but it makes it a nice treat while we are on our weekend trips
    and can watch them in the hotel. 

    Am I totally boring you, yet?

    I ordered some new DVDs yesterday.
    I Love Lucy complete series.
    Color Purple.
    Long Long Trailer.
    Ponderosa, season one, prequel to the old Bonanza series.

    I tend to watch the same movies/series over and over.
    I’m a cheap date since I never need to see anything new.
    I make up for it in neurotic chihuahua chew toys.

    I cooked some this week.
    It felt good to be back to the stove a bit, since being so weak.
    Did I just say I missed cooking?

    I do miss having a gas stove and using my cast iron.
    I have one of those smooth top ranges and am afraid it would make a mess of it.

    Anyone ever use cast iron on a smooth top?

    I fried up some corn tortillas for tostadas.
    I could live on tostadas since I gave up tacos,
    because I gave up beef, for now anyway.

    Refried frijoles are my tummy’s friend.

    We are headed to Stillwater tomorrow.
    I’m on the hunt for a vintage camera or two to add to my collection.
    It’s my favorite collection,
    other than my neurotic chihuahuas.

    Got something you collect?

    Hey, wake up!

    I realize I have more than likely put you to sleep,
    but I wanted to tell you good night
    before I hit submit and crawl under my covers
    and drift off to my woodland fairy dream world.

    Good night, you mangy varmints.

  • I Guess Farmy Isn’t a Word

    The chihuahuas and the terrier are all scattered about the recliners while I wash their blankies.  We survived the fireworks.  Cactus Jack spent about twenty minutes taking cover under my bed last night.  He finally wandered over to his own bed, considering that just maybe, the Canine KGB was not actually trying to kill him.  Today, anyway.

    There was a hint of rain this morning, but looks as though it has passed, for the sun is starting to stream through my windows.  It will be good traveling weather today.  We are headed to Ft. Smith, AR to carouse around the downtown, pilfering through their junk stores.  Try a couple new restaurants.

    We made a trial run Thursday/Friday using our youngest son as the ranch sitter.  The ranch part he can handle, it is the two little four pound chihuahuas who give the trouble.  They have deemed him the Devil and refuse to let him touch them.   But, he managed to get them all to bed night before last and released in the morning without anyone dieing from canine heart failure.

    He even called to let me know they were all safely in bed.  I didn’t even ask him to do this for me.  This makes me a little weepy.  He knows me, and my love for these neurotic little beasts. 

    We had a nice two days checking out Pryor and Claremore a bit closer.  The property we are interested in was so charming and hobby farmy.  Love it.  The house has been completely redone inside and out. The only thing we would have to do is remove all the carpet, even though it is new. 

    I discovered the master bedroom has a separate sitting room that will work for my sewing machine and the perfect place to set up the doggie sleep crates.   Little things tickle me.

    The house, dog kennel, horse barn, insulated shop and chicken coop/run are all so clean and organized.  These folks have taken immaculate care of their property.  It’s a good thing, my ocd has declared.   And the in-ground pool, it will be glorious to swim in water without the thought of lurking pee.  Another good thing to empty nest.

    I have been pricing out white vinyl privacy fencing to go around the sides and back of the house so the dogs will not be able to see the neighbors and bark.  Or a salt packet blowing across the yard.  Or nothing.  The property is only five acres, so we want to be good neighbors.

    Have you noticed I am talking like we already own it?  Yes.  I have issues.  But, I have to visually see myself living there and think through the issues.

    No, we have not put in an offer, though we want to.  We are waiting to hear back from the potential buyers who looked at our place a couple days ago.  We were number two (aren’t we always) on their list and they were looking at more properties while they were in state this week.   So we wait.  If we happen to get an offer, we will then go for the little charmy hobby farmy place.

    My Hunky has already come up with a name for our new place, wherever it is.  We wanted to use the same letters as our current Watering Hole Ranch so we could continue to use the metal letters my son-in-law made me. So, using the letters W, H, and R he came up with WILD HOWLING RANCH.  I love it. 

    Though, I am not so sure our potential neighbors will find it so endearing. 

    Okay, I need to get the doggie blankies out of the dryer and get myself ready for the road. Enjoy your weekend and don’t forget to throw your head back and give a little howl.

    edit: Well, change of plans. Just as we were ready to throw the suitcase into the truck, our realtor called.  The potential buyers want to look at our property again today at 1:30pm.  So, we will just have to leave for our carousing around 3pm, but will stay in Ft Smith another night.  So, it works.  Yes, I might have thrown a teeny tiny mini fit.  Sometimes, my Yosemite Sam gets a bit riled when my plans have to change.  But, it was short-lived and I have slipped back into my pjs to start prepping the house.  Just needs a bit of freshening. Thankfully, the grounds look good. 

  • Where She Wanders Back In From The Woods

     

    I know I’ve been a bit absent here of late.

    My empathic self needs a disconnect every now and then.

    To release and regroup.

    I don’t know,

    just how my freak nature works.

    I’ve learned to roll with it.

    I’ve been mowing today,
    prepping the grounds for another showing tomorrow.

    Picked up some new funky junk the last couple of weekends,
    my youngest son helped me to place it all in the gardens.

    Ate some apple sauce.

    Washed the doggie blankets.

    Took photos of a tiny frog that was hanging out with the pepper plants.

    Now I am going to play scrub woman and clean my shower.

    I know.

    It’s glamorous.

    My Hunky keeps pushing towards having a cleaning service come in once a week.

    I don’t know that I am ready for that, yet. 

    It’s a pride thing.

    I’m a doer.

    We skipped church yesterday.

    I had no desire to be around the peoples
    with this scowl on my face,
    that constipation scowl.

    Sorry.
    You know I tell you everything.

    Almost.

    What I think you can handle.
    You tough folk,
    you can handle my poop talk.

    It’s one of the reasons I love you so much.

    Which reminds me.
    I’m pretty sure OBL did not post a photo of her toilet.
    In all fairness, she’s been pretty busy with hamster business.

    She has posted her toilet.
    Repeat, she has posted her toilet.

    Anyway, we headed towards Tulsa to look at another property.
    instead of singing with the angels.

    I sang with the angels in the truck.

    And I sang with Skillet, too.
    you’re killing me slow,
    but I ain’t ready to die.
    tonight get ready for a fight
    …circus for a psycho

    Take that crohn’s.

    The desert, she still calls.
    I just don’t know if I am ready to answer.
    Yet.

    So hard to leave what you love,
    even if you love the thing calling.

    It cooled off quite a bit today.
    So I am watering my garden now instead of tonight,
    since we are looking at another property near Ada.

    That’s all I got for you.

    Thank God for tiny frogs.