June 18, 2013

  • Tomorrow Is a Journey All Its Own

    Yesterday.

    It held little, but really all this knobby-kneed varmint could handle.

    I harvested enough of the tomatoes, gypsy peppers and onion for the first bit of salsa this season.  Something about that first taste, that fresh upon tongue, nothing like it.  

    I also put together a pot of chicken and noodles.  Can’t even remember the last time.  Despite the fact that I cannot eat solid foods, I indulged.  With abandon.  Wanting each spoonful to not be the last, knowing the ending would not be as glorious as this beginning.  

    And danged if I didn’t take a couple bites of that lemon cake. 

    I embraced rebellion and danced wildly. 

    Dipped it like a drunken saloon girl.

    Buffalo Girls is playing in the background.
    Calamity has just handed her baby Janie to the strangers who will raise her, and turns to walk away, broken.

    Those words from this morning come flying back to me.
    Those words my daughter scripted from soul.
    Those words that found their way to the deepest part of me.

    We keep each other in sight as long as possible until the current happens to sweep us one way or another.

    She knows.
    She knows her momma will hand her children to this strange and wild frontier, and turn and walk away, broken.

    The desert, she continues to call, tempting me to believe there is healing in her sand.

    I want to believe.

    The what ifs, they can cause a worn out cowgirl to get lost. 

    What if we get out there and nothing changes,
    and we’ve given up these lightly, scattered nests?

    He says, then we’ll move back. nothing is permanent.

    He surprises me with his obliging spirit, his learned willingness to let our life currents move us on down the gully, even when we land in a dried up wash in the desert.

    He wears this well.  Whatever this beautiful thing is, I see glimpses of it in his children.  I know they will more than survive their own life currents, so I can release them. 

    Today anyway.

    If you want to read all of my daughter’s words and the beautiful things she says about me,
    I took them from her post Heart:Riverbend.

    I forgot I wanted to tell you I am reading posts, just not leaving a lot of comments because it requires me to sit up.  I am using my energy for some of the things around here.  I thank you beautiful varmints for continuing to understand and not hold me to a standard I could never manage these days.  I think I may just use smileys for awhile, so you will know I have been there.

Comments (40)

  • Moving to wordpress already huh?  Wonder if I’ll find my way there.  Are you going there too?

    “We keep each other in sight as long as possible until the current happens to sweep us one way or another.”
    I am saving those words.  *dries a little tear

    and ending on happy thoughts… “Mmmm, lemon cake.” 

  • Ohhh, lemon cake.  You’ve got me feeling all bakey now.

  • @lanney - @mlbncsga - 

    @JstNotherDay - I am sticking with xanga, but when all is said and done, and the new xanga does indeed continue its new path, and my friends that have left to wordpress do not return, I will create a wp, but also continue here at xanga.  I can’t even keep up with one blog right now.   But, I love my people and will go where they go and stay where they stay.  I wish I could hire someone to dictate my comments to and they could type them for me. 

  • @chronic_masticator - I’ve been craving lemon and can’t bake for real right now, so it’s only a box mix. This seemed the easiest for only eating a couple of bites. 

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - lol  I’ve often wished for a personal secretary too. 

  • Your daughter is a lucky woman to have you for a mom. And you’re a lucky mother, to have her for a daughter!!

    Will be posting sometime this weekend about visiting the Great Salt Lake we visited while out in Utah….. ‘where the buffalo roam…..’ Thought of you the entire time.

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - I like me a box mix cake every now and then.

  • Tamy – I have a solution for you to be able to comment while lying down.

    1. Smart phone
    2. Xanga app
    3. Voice to text

    As a bonus, the phone often makes hilarious mistakes. And it picks up the sound of cicadas and translates it as f***. It was fun discovering that little glitch!

    Okay, I’m going to post this and then make a comment by speaking to my phone and see how it works.

  • you rock wild woman!

  • Maybe you should just try the cannabis therapy.

  • Oh!!! Where there is love, there is all that you are experiencing from your wonderful hubby and daughter…and all your kiddos! I’m so glad you have all their love and support!

    You have raised your children so well…so they will do great…and they will do great because they carry you in their hearts and they carry your words in their minds!

    All that love YOU have so willingly and generously and unconditionally given through the years is there to uplift you when you need it most!

    (I am sitting here crying…joy-tears.)

    Wherever life takes you…you will more than survive…you will thrive…as you will have your family with you in love, in spirit, in person! You will have many wonderful adventures!

    The added bonus…you only have to live today…live for today…and when tomorrow arrives, you will live it with all the wildness and wonder that is in your beautiful heart and soul!

    HUGS!!!

  • @Roadkill_Spatula - Your comments always make me snort and/or lighten the load I carry. Thank you, Tim!!! HUGS!!!

  • This is a beautiful post, Tamy, and so is Macy’s. I hope if you move you’ll be able to grow together as you have while she’s been close to you.

  • @chronic_masticator - And wow!  I read your pm.  Thank you.  I am going to research the topic.  Wild! 

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - Told you.  Now you see why I don’t share that with many people.

  • I enjoyed your daughter’s post too.

  • I hope you tolerated the solid food and the dessert very well Tamy. I would love to read your daughter’s posts. I will go there now. If she wants you both to move there, how wonderful it will be to go and have her company. What a special person your husband is. One of a kind I would say.

    Okay, I went there and read her post. She writes with her heart. I misunderstood your post, and thought she was elsewhere and wanting you to move closer to her. But I gather from her post that she has moved to Oklahoma and is near by to you and your husband.

  • @adamswomanback - On FB I shared an article with WWW about research using cannabis to treat Crohn’s. She had run into a similar article before that and hadn’t realized what cannabis was.

  • I see now that it pains you to write. Thank you for the love and concern you have for xanga.

  •  I love you too.

  • I hope you are feeling better soon – and that the lemon cake was worth it!

  • this photo is Medicine Park?

    your life partner is a good one.  an exceptional one.
    the desert calls to me, constantly.  where are you thinking of moving to, now?

  • @Roadkill_Spatula - Oh! I hadn’t heard this! I thought you were teasing. I had heard it was good for patients going through cancer treatments. But never researched it. I have friend who is 40 years old, has Crohn’s, and has all but a few inches of his colon removed. He really struggles a lot. I’ll have to ask him if he’s heard of this! HUGS!!! 

  • Dear Tamy,

    My prayers are with you. I visited your daughter’s site. Your words and hers are wonderful, heart filling, and true. Yours is one “surrogate family” I love visiting from time to time, when I may feel sad that I’ve lost my own.Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • Okay nevermind that you have made me really hungry…

    Your words are so pretty. For whatever reason (and at the risk of sounding goofy), they remind me of rain. Now isn’t that strange, words about the desert bringing rain into my head?

    Beautiful.

  • You speak to so many people Tamy even when you don’t write and just leave smiley’s!  

  • This almost makes me cry…you suffering and all. A splash of rebellion may cause you pain, but the tastebuds must’ve been happy!

  • Your daughter’s writing…the way she expresses herself is just, so, GOOD!

  • @armnatmom - I love the way she is able to communicate her love.

    @saintvi - I’m still laughing over this.  Honestly, that sounds wonderful (and maybe after all our kids’ school debt is paid off, I might consider it).  But, I would have to get the Pollyanna version that types freaking.  Between the locus, coyotes and the bullfrogs, I am afraid they would wear out the *f* feature.

    @Roadkill_Spatula - I am running out of other options. 

    @adamswomanback - You are beautiful.    Thank you.

    @slmret - It is not the miles that matters, is it?  Thank you, Janet.

    @chronic_masticator - Most would not understand, or be open to understanding. 

    @ata_grandma - She has a way with expressing her love for all things. Thank you!

    @ZSA_MD - My body did not tolerate the food, but I knew that ahead of time.  Sometimes, we have to tend to the physiological side of things.  I needed to chew, to taste, to swallow. Something happens when a body goes so long without those joys, those privileges.  The pleasure far out-weighed the consequence.  But, it was back to Boost the next day. Thank you, Zakiah, for taking the time to read my daughter’s post.

    @PPhilip - Thank you. Today feels better, the hours will tell the whole story.  There is a John Deere out there patiently waiting for me. 

    @rainydaystay - 

    @murisopsis - It was.  I am trying a new natural herb, there is hope.  Always.

    @plantinthewindow - This is in the Wichita Mountains, the entrance to one of the trails.  I forgot the name of the trail.  We are still looking at Marana, north of Tucson.  While we were there, I didn’t want to leave.  But, we have to wait until the ranch sells.  Are you planning a trip out there anytime soon? 

  • @baldmike2004 - These are beautiful words, Mike.  I deeply thank you. 

    @SamsPeeps - It’s perfect that they remind you of rain.  I have always been lover of the dry desert, but gave birth to a little girl who loved the rain. I used to dance with her in the rain, or swing.  It makes sense.

    @Iloveaholiday - Thank you for making me loved above and beyond what I already do!

    @Richgem - Exactly.  Sometimes we need to tend to the mental aspect of a situation.  I get to missing the chew, taste and swallow and need to just endure the physical consequence.  I think today might be a better day, time will tell.  I have glorious things to do!!!   Thank you, Gail.  I love the way my daughter expresses her love for all things. 

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest -  I’m glad. I kind of thought, “That lady is going to think I am NUTSO!” (and I kind of am!) Cause I really did not know how to explain. Thank you. xoxo

  • @SamsPeeps -  I never knock NUTSO.
    I love it when our empathic abilities are revealed and confirmed! Thank you for being brave enough to tell me what you you sensed.  I love it! 

  • @WildWomanOfTheWest - LOL Okie dokie smokie just remember this the next time I sound NUTSO! lol ::: hugs ::: you are something else. XO

    Oh, yeah I went and checked out your girl’s site. Wow! Your daughter can write! I really enjoyed it (even though she got that Pocohontas song stuck in my head!) and am following her now.

  • you are brave indeed.  but, yeah, there are times when all of our common senses just don’t give a hoot and food rules.  i know that feeling.  i’m truly helplessly fallen for them.  over and over again.

  • @rudyhou - When starvation mode kicks in, I go into starving dog mode.  Thankfully, I am feeling better now since taking the cayenne pepper and can eat solid foods.  Hopefully, I get some meat on my bones! 

  • Very nice post!!  You do what you can and that’s what makes life worth living.

    I am so proud of Elita, mostly because she tells me she loves me.  I didn’t get that growing up and made myself a promise that I would raise my child differently.Oh how it has paid off.  It keeps me going, knowing that I have shown her love as best I could, as no mom is perfect, but it really touches your heart when you see your child showing love and affection.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.