March 16, 2013

  • It’s Not That Creepy

    We spent most of the day working outside, with a few breaks sitting under the pine, letting the Oklahoma breeze do its thing.  The sun and warmth were glorious today.

    I was itching to prep my gardens, so I drug out my tools and started the therapeutic chore of overturning the soil.  A little at a time, all my strength would allow, each shovelful releasing an earthy perfume.  I inhaled deeply. 

    Rather than the normal veggies, I will fill these beds with flowers this year, canna bulbs, ornamental grasses, hostas and some color.  Feeling the need for something lush.  And of course, there will be sunflowers.  My garden is not complete without them.

    The veggies will be planted in waist-high beds.  Today we stacked old metal horse watering troughs onto cinder blocks.  They most certainly expose my redneck roots, but hopefully this will make it easier for me to tend to my salsa veggies.  I think I will paint the cinder blocks a cream color.

    We also started placing my garden art back into the garden beds.  I was tempted to put everything back into the same spots, but decided to shake things up a bit.  I am having fun, but most of my pieces are heavy, so I doubt MM is having as much fun as I am.
     
    Still, he smiled.

    And even drove us down the highway to the Dairy Queen for a little ice cream.

    The canine are all happily tucked into their beds.  They wear themselves out on days like this, chasing butterflies, harassing the trucks on the road and taking dips in the galvanized water trough.  Actually, Yosemite Sami is the one who likes to swim.  I tell her I really don’t think the other dogs want to drink her butt water.  She wiggles at me, then continues to cool herself in what she has claimed to be her personal pool. 

    Annie Oakley is snoring. 

    My own eyes are getting heavy.  I doubt I will be able to get through the Big Valley episode I have playing before drifting off myself.  I like watching the same shows over and over.  I don’t know why. 

    MM is probably watching something creepy on Netflix.  He just signed up last night for the free thirty days offer.  I pretty much only watch vintage movies and westerns. Would Netflix work for me?  Tell me what you like/dislike about it. 

    And now, I have a date with my pillow.

    Good night, my lovies. 

Comments (33)

  • Sounds like you had a lovely day!

  • This sounds like such a wonderful day WW and I am so happy to hear you out there digging in the dirt again and enjoying the sunshine.

    Hugs

  • I watch ecclectic things and some tv but that’s so I know something current  netflix is so far the best 8 bucks a month but the box I ever bought.it’s slowness can be a tad annoying but get a beer/veverage going and sit to a movie :D that’s grand too.  not finding enough on to watch?  tad annoying but there is enough of a shot to find something.  vintage movie?   I suggest douglas fairbanks as in senior within the movie “the thief of baddhad. it’s a fun bit of suspended reality.

  • It sounds as if all is well with your world and you are at peace.  Lovely, Tamy. 

  • Such a lovely picture.  I hope your raised beds are easier on you and don’t just become a project themselves.  Is there something to keep the weeds from growing up around the cinder blocks because I can just imagine you wearing yourself out pulling them.  You are so much like my grandma in spirit.
    Dad was pleased he could contribute to the teasing of chihuahuas.  He said he moved the rooster and duck to the other side of the yard today and the neighbor’s dog kept slinking up to the fence and then exploding into fierce barking.  It just couldn’t understand why they wouldn’t fly away! 

  • I’m so delighted that you are sounding so settled again, and feeling up to playing in the yard too!

  • I need to get out in the yard tomorrow.  I did a little today (very little)..

  • That is wonderful that you had a good day, for sure :) Awesome pic!  

  • I love netflix.  I usually end up watching raunchy stand-up comedy, random documentaries, or a favorite tv series.

  • Sounds a grand day

  • Awww. The last two days were gobsmackingly gorgeous. Netflix changed my tv watching life. Hey, I thought Sami went to go live with your friend?

  • Sounds like a heavenly day! I love that the weather is outdoor weather now!

    I like Netflix for the TV series I can catch up on…and for the documentaries…and the old movies! I love Westerns!!!
    HUGS and Happy Sunny Sunday!!!

  • I too have begun prepping my flower beds, and am astonished to see the number of shoots I have from my butterly and rose of sharon bushes.  Never had this while living on the hillside.  I like your cinder block idea, and I don’t think it makes you too red neckish, unless you want to be, and then I say, “You go redneck girl!”  One thing I’ve done about weeds, since my autoimmune diseases take more energy than I have, and since I care for my 18 month old grandson who will be on a leash this year, is wait until the weeds are good size, oh I know this is hard, soak them really good, and they practically pop up out of the ground on their own.  It used to be perfection, hitting them all the minute they showed their ugly little heads, but not any more.  And with the planting of more bushes and very large perennials, you don’t see the weeds as much.  Also, with the ground cover, wooly thyme, irish moss, scotch moss between my rocks on my walking path, it takes longer for the weeds to get through.  Life is HEAVEN with  ground cover, especially when it blooms!!!

  • Sounds like a wonderful day! Ilove the idea of the watering troughs on cinderblocks. We have raised beds but I have told Keith lately that we need to bring those beds UP. We use Netflix and they have a classic section to choose from. We watch lots of old movies from them. You can also rent tv shows, so I bet you could rent all of The Big Valley shows. When you get done with your watering troughs post a picture. I would love to see it!

  • Your tree frog photo is perfect, and goes along well with your tale of working outside. Hope you get it all back where you want it.

  • your gardening plans sound wonderful. i can’t wait to get out there again.–karen

  • Sounds like a busy but fun day! I’m jealous of your weather.

  • I would like to spend a day with you in your gardens. I think it would be inspiring! And I still have a strong back!

  • I love the Tree Frog. Such a stunning picture. Nothing creepy at all. 

    SO happy to hear you are getting some Earth nurturing. It is such a soul healer, as is soaking up the sun & simply being outdoors back where you belong.

    Hope you rested well & are able to get out & enjoy more today.

    Happy St. Patty’s Day, lovely lady…

    Wishing you a rainbow
    For sunlight after showers—
    Miles and miles of Irish smiles
    For golden happy hours—
    Shamrocks at your doorway
    For luck and laughter too,
    And a host of friends that never ends
    Each day your whole life through!

  • There’s no place like home. you sound so happy and I am glad for that. Netflix is good, but you moght want to try Hulu Plus free for a month and compare. I think they offer more TV shows and ther are a lot of old westerns just waiting to be watched. Have fun.

    xxoo

  • I’ve had Netflix for quite some time. I don’t pay for TV so it’s a cheap way to get good movies to watch. They don’t have everything I’d like but they have a ton of good stuff, including TV series and old movies. Many of the discs have a Spanish track or at least subtitles so they work for Alicia also.

  • The frog picture…probably not the most handsome amphibian I’ve ever seen.  LOL

  • so you’re glad to be home?

  • Waist high beds for veggies sound just perfect for me. What a nifty idea.

    I love to watch some shows over and over again. I am a sucker for old movies too… and old books, and old friends!

  • I wish I could get out in my back yard but right now 3/4 of it under water from heavy rains last night! Lots of paw wiping every time we let Charlie out!

    Still winter time here, now 44 degrees and miserable looking out the window! Hoping I can get my little garden dug up in April and see how much more soil I need to add to it. 

    Just going to stick with tomatoes, green peppers, jalapenos and green beans this time and hope they do well!

  • I had you on my mind today…so I prayed for you.
    Guess where I was sitting when I thought of you?!
    HUGS!!!

  • Is that tree frog alive? It looks like it’s discolored. I’m used to the green ones we have around here. I love frogs of all kinds. They’re not creepy at all! Unless they pee on ya! LOL

    I’ve never had Netflix. Let me know what you think of it. I’m basically a weather channel, Duck Dynasty, animal planet kind of gal! I do watch a few other shows, but nothing scary or gross.

  • that is such an interesting looking frog.

  • I thought this was going to be about the new frog they found that delivers baby frogs through it’s mouth…I don’t think I believe them though…every one knows frogs start out as tad poles 

    Our kids got Net Flicks for us, I can never find anything to watch =/ but l watch movies over and over too, lately it’s been the old Disney movie Big Red…I can’t believe how many people have never seen it.

  • I did some meditating today…took a walk in the “wilderness”. Thinking, praying…for so many people. And you are one of them.
    HUGS!

  • butt water. giggle!

    Big Valley. Now that’s a blast from the past. Loved that show. I’ve been thinking I need to start showing my daughter some Westerns. Get her raised up right.

    That’s a neat idea, horse troughs. I’d like to hear how that works out. Painting them  a cream color is a great idea and will help with heat-control.

    But what is this about Arizona? Who will tend the veggies while you’re gone?

  • Raised beds are the best! I just put another one in… They’re so much easier.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.