February 14, 2013

  • Page 43


    But how do you know which kids to adopt?

    It was a genuine question, I suppose.  But, the answer seemed too obvious to me.  Still, I answered.

    A mother recognizes the faces of her children.

    The memory comes flooding back to me as I open a gift Meteorology Man gave me yesterday evening. Not the usual Valentine offerings of candy and flowers, or even jewelry.  This one brings tears to my soul. 

    More than twelve years ago, I found myself browsing the internet, looking through photo after photo of children for adoption. I kept coming back to three sweet faces, a sister and two younger brothers.  We already had six children and the thought of adding more children only made me weak in the knees.  I wasn’t some perfect super mom and I knew there was no way I could be a good enough mom to nine children.  I mean, what would people think? They already thought we were crazy for having six. Yet, I bookmarked their photo and talked with those faces every morning.

    About a month later, I was shopping at the local thrift store and noticed a current issue of McCall’s magazine. It had an adoption article listed on the cover, so I tossed it in the cart.  A couple days later, I opened the magazine to page 43 and my heart dropped clear to my stomach.  I covered my mouth and started to cry.

     
    A mother does recognize the face of her children. 
    The same three I had bookmarked, sat starring back at me from the pages of the magazine. Half a million kids in foster care, not likely it was just a fluke.

    And the rest is history.

    We lost this magazine, with the rest of our sentimentals, in the tornado almost three years ago. Meteorology Man found a copy on-line and ordered it for me.

    Valentine’s can keep its chocolate, teddys and diamonds,
    my man knows how to pour true passion into this ragged old heart of mine.

    Okay, and I have to admit, the chocolate covered strawberries were a nice touch. I like me a bit of fancy.

    Thank you, Hunky,
    for going beyond the norm.

    Happy Heart Day to my loves!

    Hunky

    Jonae’  John  Andrew

    Macy   Teara   Keara

    Jonah   Jonathan   Jeremiah

Comments (34)

  • Here’s a huggy turd for you and your awesome family. Blessings!

  • I understand these feelings whole heartedly, seeing as how I was adopted. I am most grateful for the sacrifice my parents made when they adopted me, and doubly grateful for the new life they gave me. I’m sure your children feel the same. Love and ((((((HUGS)))))) to you and MM.

  • sniff.  this was amazing and beautiful.  as are you. :)

  • Wow! I always assume I’ll know when I get there, but this is really profound. What an amazing husband you have too! Lovely gift!

  • You make my heart smile. Love to you and yours.

  • What an amazing and thoughtful gift :)

    Happy valentines day, lovely!

  • You are a wonderful person; have a happy Valentine’s Day!!!

  • that is an amazing gift of love. Gifts from the heart are always more wonderful than the standard ones that people give because we are supposed to give them.

  • What a wonderful gift of the heart!  Happy Valentine’s Day to you both, Tamy!

  • Beautiful……just beautiful!!  Happy Valentine’s day!

  • Wow.  Where’d you find that man o’ yours?
    This brought tears to my eyes.

  • wonderful, just wonderful <3

  • You and I are the same – I too, have six kids. Though there are times it is really hard, but then I am so proud to be a Mommie to these angels. They are great kids! I did wonder on adopting some other kids or babes; I felt for those kids who has no parents and no proper place call home … but my kids are. I told my kids that they are so blessed to have a Mommy and Daddy at home and we have a nice house, a roof on our heads and food in the fridge … Yes, we are blessed … Let us just keep in our hearts, thoughts & memories and be grateful and thankful.

    And Happy Valentine`s day to you, my friend!

  • I can’t seem to find that dang onion in here… 

  • Wow. This made me all sniffly. Your husband gets mega points for finding a treasure like that! Happy St. Valentine’s Day!

  • I would suppose the same rules sort of apply to the animals you also adopt. However children are way different than pets at times. Children learn new behaviors and can vocalize a lot more than a pet. Plus humans tend to live longer than most pets.

    Have a happy valentines day.

  • And I cried with you. What a singular honor it is to know you and have you as my friend. Blessings to you Tamy.

  • Love, hugs and a blessed V day filled with love to you and all of your children.  You are so right-A Mama knows her kids whether by birth or blessing<:)

  • awww, now I am tearing up. This is beautiful. People who adopt are awesome, and I’m glad you found each other. :)

  • You do know how to touch the heartstrings, my dear woman. I’ve been in a cry at the moment mood today & this most certainly brought tears. Reminds me  there are kind hearted folks out there that will adopt children & raise them with all the love they need. I know that is what took place with my first child, but it’s still a powerful reminder when I read something like this.

    Sounds like this special day was even more special because of MM & the love of those that surround you. Powerful stuff indeed!!!  Thanks for the memories…

  • It’s a little different for those adopting newborns.  You have to take it on faith, that the girl you’ve been writing to has made the same connection with you that you’ve made with her.  It’s a mother to mother kind of thing.  She’s entrusting her baby to you, to raise and love, and include her in the process.  My pastor was adopted as an infant, and that was before open adoption.  She’s always wanted to find her bio mom, just to thank her for allowing her to have the life she had, with the opportunities that came with it.  She herself gave birth at 19, single, in school full time, and agonized over what to do.  She eventually chose open adoption, and has been in that boy’s life since birth.  She just attended his college graduation, and was allowed to stay in his home for the week of festivities.   Her two boys she has with her husband have a a relationship with him as well, and she refers to them as “My Three Sons.”  So adoption and the giving of life can be beautiful at any age, but, at the newborn age, the bond can be very strong with the mother giving life, giving birth, and giving a child to you as a sign of faith and goodwill.

  • From the garden with all my love  

  • so it was love at first site

    yes, a mother does recognize her children!

  • you are blessed to have a man that knows your heart and how to touch it in the right ways.

    On anither subject,I kniw you are moving soon so….
    I hope the move goes off without a hitch,unless you need one to pull a trailer.If so then….
    I hope your move goes swimmingly,but I hoe ther is no flood and you need to swimfor safety. So…..
    I hope your moving goesSorry you have toBut the new place is nice and you soon willbe right at home.

  • You got me all boohooy what and I say I am a big softy…you are a true Mom for sure and totally the bomb and a very good egg…My Jenna (My daughters best friend) and her sweetness adopted 3 darlings two brothers and a sister that are such beautiful darlings and I get to play Grandma which is cool

  • Warmest of thanks Tamy, for the love, care and concern you showed me earlier this week.

  • Your love is shared and without limits, Lyne.
    Love
    michel

  • What a beautiful post. You are one lucky lady. 

  • I know, deep in my heart, that this was no coincidence.  A, and ll panned out as it was meant to be.  You have given them a fine upbringing, and may they pay you back by living lives of distinction.

  • Alright….this made me cry!!  And being here in my office with people coming in and out isn’t the best place to be crying!!  :)   You are an awesome mother and you have an awesome husband!!!

    Things have really changed in your life.  I bet things are going to just get better and better though!!  It will just take a while….

  • i think this is the best valentine’s present i’ve heard of.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.