February 12, 2013

  • Ethel Crosses To The Dark Side (edit)

    Though I know I will work through it, as with all things we have to release in our lives, I’ve been a bit heavy-hearted knowing we will be leaving the ranch in just a few short days.  I’ve actually had major thoughts of total regret.  But you know that already.  I think you know me well enough, I will discover wonderful new things despite the letting go of a lifestyle I love.

    Today is the appraisal on the ranch.

    Meteorology Man suggested we trash the place, so the appraisal would come in too low and the deal would fall through.

    It’s like Ethel came up with the plan before Lucy.
    She didn’t have to be coerced into some crazy scheme,
    she actually conjured up the plan all on her own.

    Yes, MM has finally come to the dark side.

    I love this man.

    And I would totally do it, but there are probably laws against such a thing. 
    I’ve got a little more than an hour people, do I pull a Lucy?

    Or do I wimp out and finish packing the barn shelves.

    edit: The appraiser cancelled because of the weather. It is snowing in the city, only rain out this way. Or course, I had already finished cleaning the house. Time to let the wild beasts from their cages, though it’s kind of nice having the house so quiet. Yes, I am horrible for thinking such a thing about my sweet little canine. 

Comments (22)

  • I can understand such pain as I was grown up at the farm as well. The life I have there since decades was robbed off after my parents went up to live in the city just because we need a good school closeby. It took me years to get used to it and I never like the commotion of the city life and we escaped the buzz of it all to our village while visiting grandparents. Now, I am living near the woods and up the hills facing down the rivers; so close to the forest is a must for me and anyway it is a healthy way of living to be so close to nature.

    I wish you all the hope & joy at the new place! *HUGS*

  • Onward, beautiful lady! You’ll leave behind the fabulous energy of your presence that is priceless. You’ll spread new energy anywhere you go. Oh…okay…knock over a plant or two.  Good thing we don’t live next to each other. We COULD be them!

  • I’d hate to see all that effort spent on packing wasted. /hugs

  • I know it’s tough.  my thoughts are with you guys.

  • You know that saying “bloom where you’re planted”?? That’s what you’ll do. You’ll bloom wherever you end up planted. I can just tell. No need to worry.

  • I can identify… My folks’ house in Colombia was my favorite place in the world. If it wasn’t that I can easily live in denial, it would have been terribly hard to pack them up for their move to the US back in 1994. As it was, I returned to Costa Rica the day before they flew to the US because I didn’t want to be there for their departure. Leaving while they were still there and the house was still full of family junk was like just one more visit.

  • Love the video – it reminded me of me and Krysten… and me and Val… and me and Beth… and me and Beth and you… and me and my friend Katy… and me and my friend Maureen…

    You know, Krysten always says she’s Lucy and I’m Ethel, but I’m seeing a different pattern here.

  • Sorry about what you’re going through, but as others have said, you’ll make it a good life after all.

    Why can’t they make sitcoms like “Lucy” these days.  So much imagination!

  • I like what Beth said…you’ll bloom where you’re planted. So, go ahead and pack the barn shelves. Savor a good cry and get ready to write your blog from a new perspective! I am excited for you and this change. Maybe because I’ve been stuck in this little old house for so long and am dying a slow death, wanting so much to move. God has blessed you with so much and you have been wonderful at sharing with all of us! Hugs from me!

  • it’s sad to leave.

    my son is a home appraiser in Fort Worth and they go by what the other houses in the area go for.

  • I left a place I really loved and had put a lot of work into to come here.  It was difficult.  So far I haven’t any feelings like that about leaving where I stay now.

  • 9 years ago we moved from the home we raised our family in (NJ) to this new home we chose in maine.  it was sad, and nearly broke my heart to see my kids looking back as we drove away for the last time, but our life here in our new home has been more awesome than we could have ever imagined :) –karen

  • aw. i know what it’s like to leave a home you love. hugs~

  • You two would make quite the TV show.  It kept switching between snow and rain all day here. 

  • Soon you and your critters will be in your new home with all of your critters all snug and happy.
    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((hugs and loves)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  • You can do this.  You’ve done harder things in your life, right?  So have I.  Trashing the place won’t change the appraisal.  I’ve got the notebook of my appraisal on my last home, that we lived in for 17 years, right in the rolling hills of our town.  I’d made our little hill a work of wonder, and we’d painted the house 5 times.  I drove past it a couple of weeks ago, knowing we’d sold it to an architect who had wondrous plans of knocking out the basement wall into the hill to make a fancy downstairs patio.  We’d always envisioned that, but were too low on cash to do it.  And I wouldn’t borrow any money to do it.  Well, it’s gone to hell in a hand basket.  I have to wonder what our neighbors think.  If anything.  Tall, angry weeds, where grass used to be mowed.  Dead bushes, rose of sharon, roses, butterfly, two retaining rock walls with sun flowers and poppies and other assortments of flowers that just flew in and did their thing.  And the Iris!  Oh man, tons of Iris!  All dead.  So I’ve finally let go, and continue in my transformation of my little home and yard we downsized to, for my health reasons.  I’m going to put my less than 2 year old grandson on a harness this summer so I can do more in the yard than last year, and he can dig in the dirt.  We pulled up 8 spruce trees, overgrown, hideous.  We pulled up 15 large overgrown evergreen bushes, smelling of cat urine, and totally covering the place.  We dug two feet down around the whole place to discover where the infestation of carpenter ants was, along with jars, bottles, jugs, boxes, and weird things full of rocks and paper, that the 100 year old lady who lived there had buried over the years.  And then I began my work in progress.  We do have three beautiful pine trees that really should come down because of their height and the winds here, but that’s real money.  Oh, and we trimmed a spruce on our driveway that cut into the neighbor lady’s lot, and she cried when she told me that was the first time in 25 years she’d seen the street from that window in her house.  So throw yourself into your new place.  It will be well worth it, and you won’t suffer leaving the ranch pains for as long as you think you will.  I know it sounds crass, but it’s stuff.  And you’ll make more stuff.  And how fortunate you are to have had what you’ve had, and to have the ability to get another house.  So many can’t.  So very very many can’t.

  • I understand totally what you feel , Tamy,  because this is what I felt in 1986 when I had to leave a house whom I thought it was the last in my life. Alas I had to leave for the job! But I have not forgotten. Here in Amiens , my new town all is different , and it was also the time of the changes in the family . But as you see I had to adapt myself . Life is a permanent adaptation. Go ahead my dear friend and look forwards

    Love

    Michel

  • I can relate to what you’re saying.  We’ve only been in our house 20 yrs but it’s big and we need less room now that the kids are grown.  I, unfortunately, am having a hard time even ‘thinking’ about a move.  We’ve had our Dodge Ram van for 25 years.  Get the picture?  ugh..

  • I know it’s hard. I had similar feelings about the RV I lived in. It will hurt for a while and you will cry, but before you know it you will be loving your new place and settling in!

    I also have similar feelings about not wanting to let the dogs out of their crates every day after their mid-day naptimes (I have to put them in crates for an hour or two in the middle of the day so I can rest). LOL As much as I love them it’s nice to sit and relax without worrying that someone is eating something they shouldn’t. 

  • I understand the ache of moving away. Been there done that. Hope you feel my hugs.

  • it’s never easy to leave a place that you have called home for many years.  it’s like leaving your comfort zone.  but fear not.  you knew this day would come.  so just face it head on.  you will feel the hurt and sadness but those would make you stronger, and love your new place even more.

  • Can you do it and blame it on the neighbors?? Or a criminal passing through the area? Or um……………..I’m sure there’s SOMEONE else to blame! LOL

    Praying for the move and all to go smoothly! Love you, sweet friend!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.