Month: October 2013

  • Little Corners of Glory

    I feel like I’ve been unpacking forever.

    The tedious part of moving.

    It seems I am just making a mess, so I move slow, finding the perfect place for everything.

    I have too many things, I am finding.

    The kitchen is pretty much set up.

    The bathrooms are functioning, two are actually decorated.

    This is the part I enjoy,
    creating little corners of glory
    with beautiful pieces from friends.

    012

    030

    017

    032

    013

    039

    wild woman signature

    Crows and Sunflowers by Ocean Starr Cline
    Sunflowers and Chili Peppers by Dona, my fbb
    Abandoned Oklahoma Homes series by John E. Glaze

  • I’m Gonna Need That Recipe

    bench 016

    Wandering in many weeks past the grand opening,
    I am feeling a bit late to the party.

    Confetti and deflated balloons laying about the floor,
    probably not even a piece of leftover stale cake.

    Or those little weenies in cocktail sauce.
    I love those things.

    I’m not really in the partying mood anyway,
    spent most of today under my electric blanket
    recouping from two good days of unpacking and mowing.

    It was easier leaving Watering Hole Ranch this time around
    the right people are in there now.
    I adore this young couple.
    She has an indigo soul and will treat that glorious place as it should.

    They kept the horses.
    I am good with it.
    Plenty of tears, but it is the right thing.

    We placed three of the rescue dogs,
    three more to go, which will leave three here at home.
    Manageable for this weak-kneed body.
    Much wailing (esp over my Yosemite Sami), but it is the right thing.

    Seems I can’t even type her name without bawling.
    Pardon my neurotic.

    It is very different here at the new place,
    no horizons, or
    open spaces.

    but there is beauty,
    things I need
    things that will further evolve me.

    In time, I will know.

    Unpacking is coming along
    slowly,
    but I am determined not to be driven.
    No reason to push it beyond its own pace.

    Or mine.

    Our twenty year old daughters are temporarily crashing the empty nest,
    the reason I am not at this very moment lounging with the Arizona lizards.

    We are helping them to transition,
    they are helping me to reestablish,
    their muscles covering my own physical weakness.

    I am grateful.

    Life is still good,
    just different.

    wild woman signature

    The camera battery is charging. Over the next few weeks/months, I am hoping to give you all a casual tour of the new place and show you the changes we are making. I wrote this post last night, but didn’t publish it until this morning because I could not figure out how to change the size of the photo. Anyone know? That tiny little photo just ain’t tickling my fancy. Now, are you sure there are no more of those cocktail weenies left?